As some of you are aware I have had a couple of episodes with panic/anxiety attacks while swimming, especially if I swim at a different place - which obviously causes a huge problem if you are planning on doing a race. Weeks leading up to the race my main focus has been the dreaded swim...I keep sinking, my left arm is lazy entering the water causing me to sink more, I over rotate - the list of my problems is endless BUT I was determined to get this before race day. Actually, my last week of swims were good...slow but good. I even swam in Orlando with no problems. As far as I was concerned I was ready. I knew my time was going to be slow but seriously wasn't expecting the full blown panic attack a few minutes before I was suppose to start my swim. There was an open area for us to "practice swim" before the race...I jumped in, swam down & back for 50m and headed out again AND it hit me...oh no! not again, come on Amanda you can do this, calm down...ugh - I stopped mid way, looked back at Trey with the look of fear in my eyes. I tried again, just to swim back to the side...couldn't do it. I told him "I don't think I can do this" "This is not going to happen today". It is like I freeze (not literally-because the pool is 85 degrees) when I put my face in the water, I can't breathe out, I can't even remember how to breathe and totally hit freak out mode and it is scary! I completely got out of the water and just stared at the clock...I only had a few minutes to spare. Trey encouraged me to try again...I knew I had to so I got back in, swam halfway and it happened again. At this time, I was more than concerned. I could not freaking swim - there was no way I could survive 500m like this!!! I seriously just made myself sit on the bottom of the pool and just blow out bubbles like I was 5 years old...I had to get my breathing under control or this tri was not going to be happening for me today. I was able to swim another 50m, in somewhat of a controlled manner and it was my time to get in line.
I submitted a swim time when I registered for this race so you had to line up accordingly. At this race there was a 2 minute penalty if you tried to move in line. Actually looking back, this was a good thing for me...because at that moment I would have let the whole field go off in front of me because I was terrified!! I stood there in fear watching the racers jump in every 10 seconds and before I knew it I was next in line!! The guy counted down 3, 2, 1 and off I went...right into that big bowl of crystal blue water - yikes!!!
I swam the 25m to the other side, slow but actually comfortably. Trey was at the lane saying take it slow...so off I went for the next 25m...there was a ladder on that end that I grabbed to help push me under the rope but Trey said he thought I may climb that thing and call it a day-ha!ha! Trey was at every lane (all 10 of them) encouraging me and cheering me on...I heard him clearly when I hit the halfway mark and I knew there was no way I was quitting now. It is crazy because I ended up swimming well for me. I reached the last 25m and headed straight to the ladder - WooHoo!!! I DID IT! I looked down at my Garmin to check my time but my arm had hit the lane line so many times that it had turned off.
I was so relieved to be on land and headed out on the bike! It took me a mile or so for my legs to get going. I looked down at my Garmin and noticed the time of day and in my head I thought my swim was around 20 minutes...I thought man I really need to pick up this pace because I have ALOT of time to make up. I settled into the ride around mile 2, the course was flat with some headwind, but all in all I loved it. I averaged 18.5 on the bike.
Now onto my real comfort zone - the run! I had the best run average I have ever had. My legs were heavy at first but I was able to run right through it and settled into the first mile at a 7:54 pace...I'm not sure that I have ever ran a 7:54 pace. I just kept going and my second mile was a 7:57 pace. I started recognizing faces of people that totally blew me out of the water so I knew I was making up some time..the course measured short at 2.88 miles-23:18! That was the fastest I have ever ran. I have been doing hill repeats and speed work - so thank you Forrest for having that on my training plan. Apparently that paid off in a big way!
I reached the Finish Line not having a clue what my overall time was but I knew that I killed that run! I was still somewhat frustrated and disappointed about my 20 minute swim (or so I thought). It took a while for my official time to be posted and I was blown away that my swim was only 14:00 after all! That put me 5th in my age group overall with a 1:15:38! And only 1 minute off of 3rd place!! I will take it - WooHoo!! My swimming is coming around but it still has much room for improvement! So back to the pool I go..Who knows maybe one day the pool will be my "happy place".
So thankful I faced my fears head on and gave it a TRI!
I can't believe I am saying this but somehow I have gotten myself on a triathlon team - seriously, this is crazy to me!! It was so awesome having their support that day!
Next up: Anderson Sprint Tri (minus freak out...LOL!)
I swam the 25m to the other side, slow but actually comfortably. Trey was at the lane saying take it slow...so off I went for the next 25m...there was a ladder on that end that I grabbed to help push me under the rope but Trey said he thought I may climb that thing and call it a day-ha!ha! Trey was at every lane (all 10 of them) encouraging me and cheering me on...I heard him clearly when I hit the halfway mark and I knew there was no way I was quitting now. It is crazy because I ended up swimming well for me. I reached the last 25m and headed straight to the ladder - WooHoo!!! I DID IT! I looked down at my Garmin to check my time but my arm had hit the lane line so many times that it had turned off.
Now onto my real comfort zone - the run! I had the best run average I have ever had. My legs were heavy at first but I was able to run right through it and settled into the first mile at a 7:54 pace...I'm not sure that I have ever ran a 7:54 pace. I just kept going and my second mile was a 7:57 pace. I started recognizing faces of people that totally blew me out of the water so I knew I was making up some time..the course measured short at 2.88 miles-23:18! That was the fastest I have ever ran. I have been doing hill repeats and speed work - so thank you Forrest for having that on my training plan. Apparently that paid off in a big way!
| LOVE the back of the race shirt!! |
I reached the Finish Line not having a clue what my overall time was but I knew that I killed that run! I was still somewhat frustrated and disappointed about my 20 minute swim (or so I thought). It took a while for my official time to be posted and I was blown away that my swim was only 14:00 after all! That put me 5th in my age group overall with a 1:15:38! And only 1 minute off of 3rd place!! I will take it - WooHoo!! My swimming is coming around but it still has much room for improvement! So back to the pool I go..Who knows maybe one day the pool will be my "happy place".
So thankful I faced my fears head on and gave it a TRI!
I can't believe I am saying this but somehow I have gotten myself on a triathlon team - seriously, this is crazy to me!! It was so awesome having their support that day!
![]() |
| Team HUB |
Next up: Anderson Sprint Tri (minus freak out...LOL!)


