Monday, September 21, 2015

There's a first time for everything...RAMBLIN ROSE TRI!!

Fear says...NO you can't.
Determination says...YES you can.
Results say...I told you so.

I still can't believe that this happened...2nd in my age group & 28th overall!!!



I sure wish I would have known my first triathlon was going to end up like this because if you were anywhere around me this past week you know that I was a nervous wreck!!!  I just couldn't seem to get past the nervousness of the "unknown"...I couldn't imagine actually being able to jump in that water when it was my turn and swim.  I had entirely too much time on my hands on Saturday morning while Trey was getting his ride in before we headed out to Huntersville-this is all I could think about.

Finally it was time to head out and we went straight to packet pickup.  We had to give our "swim ability" to determine where to place us the next morning for the swim.  Coach Trey and the lady tried to convince me to sign up faster than I was.  It was totally freaking me out to do that - I just couldn't be the girl in the lane that was getting passed because she was too slow.  I decided to stick with my decision of 6 - being a 6 min 250 swim.

Joanna & Todd met us at packet pickup, we then checked into our hotel and headed to dinner.  You would have thought we were doing an Ironman with the amount of food we ate...I just keep blaming everything on being nervous.

Surprisingly enough I slept pretty good that night and was ready to go race day morning.  I was still nervous but suddenly I felt much more calm.  Maybe because the anticipation of my first triathlon was here - IT IS TODAY!  We got there is plenty of time to set up our transition area, get our body marking and head to the pool for a practice swim.

Heading out the great unknown!

Body marking kinda makes you look like a badass!

Ready for our practice swim
This pic totally cracks me up because I realized the pool was 6ft deep in the shallowest part...with me being only 5'6", I sure better be able to make it to the other side because I never learned how to tread water - uh oh - YIKES!!


I feel like the "practice swim" eased my nerves even more...now all we do is wait for the race to start!!

They call us all together for a pre-race meeting and it is time to line up in our "swim ability" corrals.  Spectators are allowed in the pool area which was great for me...Coach Trey came out to let us know that the lanes were already clogging up-apparently people really weren't as fast as they claimed. Great, this should be fun...all I know is they better get out of my way because I HAVE to make it to the other side - ha!  It is finally time for us to enter the pool area and we stand in line chatting with Trey & Todd and watching the lanes continue to clog up...ugh!


I loved having Joanna right there in front of me...it was just us the first few lengths.
That's me in the back.
And then we start gaining on everyone - who would've ever thought I would be passing someone in the water!
WOO-HOO!  I made it!
I still look back at these pics and can't believe that is me....I actually look like I know what I'm doing. I enjoyed the swim!!  I'm not sure if I just completely stepped over the chip mat but my swim time didn't register, but according to Trey it was 5:59!!  Joanna & I high five pool side and head off to transition.  Feeling good and very confident.

Now it's time to head off on the bike...the bike felt great...just a couple of inclines and a hill coming back in to transition.  I averaged 18.1 on the bike.  My Garmin registered the bike course short.


I'm back in my comfort zone here.
Heading back in to transition.
I was enjoying the bike.  I usually do not go that fast on the bike.  I was curious how my legs were going to feel even in just that short distance.  A few steps out on the run let me know real quick!  Let's just say I was very thankful that run was only 2 miles.  I didn't wear my Garmin so I had no idea how fast I was going, but by the sound of my breathing you would have thought I was flying.

See you at the FINISH LINE
I ended up with a 17:54 run!  It hurt...its hard to go fast (or fast for me).

FINISH LINE-54:58

I ABSOLUTELY loved this race!  It was a perfect first tri...not intimidating at all, all shapes & sizes, and very laid back.  A lot of first timers.  I'm so proud of myself and I can't seem to wipe this big ol' smile off my face today:)  I will not be "one and done", I hate that I started this venture at the end of the season...but I'm going to take this winter to work on my swimming and building more confidence in my swimming.   I'm already looking forward to my next TRI!

Now, I've got to take a moment and give Joanna a huge shout out...this girl has never been on a rode bike until we signed up for this tri...she rode my old bike with regular pedals and killed the bike course!!  In fact she said that was her favorite part.  I told her I was happy I would be in a different age group than her next year.


All packed up and looking forward to the next one!


If your day starts at sunrise you may as well end it with a "Sunrise"!  We ended our morning with a delicious brunch and headed home.  It was a PERFECT day - Race, friends & food!

As most of you know, swimming has always kept me away from triathlon...if it scares you, it might be a good thing to TRI.  I'm so glad that I did.

Next goal - swim 1.2 miles!  

Friday, September 11, 2015

SWIMMING...the struggle has been REAL!!

This Sunday marks 1 week to my first triathlon and I'm excited & to put it frankly scared too death!!  I don't/didn't swim...what in the world was I thinking??!!  Over the last couple of months I have definitely realized why I have avoided the sport of swimming for so long!



Growing up in MS we didn't have swim team as kids...yes, I could swim underwater, play pool games at birthday parties, jump off the diving board, etc...but let's face it - that is NOT swimming!  As an adult I had a near drowning experience that scared me so bad I wouldn't even get in the water for years.  Then many years back I realized I wasn't scared of the water, I just didn't have a clue what to do when I got in there.  So with that being said I'm really not sure what made me decide to sign up for swimming lessons a couple of months ago.  I guess I was tired of using the excuse "I can't"...I can no longer say "I can't" but I can tell you it is a struggle every single time I get in the water:)

My swimming instructor, Liz!  She didn't know what she was getting into...LOL!

Swimming is HARD!!  It is so much harder than it looks, when I watch people who really know how to swim - it actually looks relaxing.   I can't even imagine...my head is swimming with so many things before I even push off the wall to start my swim...one day I hope to not have to THINK & just swim:)

At my first swimming lesson I could not make it halfway down the length of the pool..I have been so frustrated almost to the point of tears a few times, I've celebrated because I rocked it out one day, and then left my determination on the bottom of the pool after the next swim...The first time I was able to make it to the other end of the pool - I sounded like I had sprinted a mile.  I remember thinking how in the world am I going to be able to swim 10 lengths by 9/20...I'm telling you-the struggle is REAL!

Way out of my comfort zone



Poor Joanna has seen me on the brink of tears (obviously, not this pic)
A HUGE congrats to this fish - all she needed was a little push to get back in the water:)
SO PROUD OF HER!!

And Jen was lucky enough to see me at all SMILES!
For REAL all smiles - this was the first day I swam a 250 & 300 - this was huge for me!

These last couple of weeks have been AWESOME for my swimming confidence level...I've been able to consistently cover the race distance (250m) and much more!  Trey took over has my Coach once my lessons were over - he has been great & patient!!  I've actually listened to every single thing he has told me to do...BUT rest assured, I told him not to get use to that...LOL!  He even told me to go for 500m straight the other day - I went for it & did it!!!

I know I can do it!!  I gave it a "tri" this morning.  I had my own personal tri at the Life Center this morning.  Just another extra confidence boost...I'm ready for race day and to experience this whole triathlon world.  Who knows - I may love it or be one & done.  BUT either way - I'm so glad I faced my fears and took the plunge into the water...on good days I actually love it!

Stay tuned...race day is next Sunday, 9/20...so if you are up early, please send a few positive vibes to Huntersville, NC for us!

Thanks Friends!