Sunday, May 26, 2013

3 Seconds Too Slow:(

This weekend Trey & I ran the White Squirrel 10K in Brevard, NC for the 2nd year in a row - it will now be a Whitley tradition!

We decided not to run this one together...Mr. Whitley had a plan to try to place in his age group!  We ran together last year and our time was 56:06 & I had to walk up the last hill!  They changed the course this year - it was hilly but nothing like last year.  This race is put on by the Brevard Rotary Club and bless their hearts they were not very prepared on race day, but everything worked out fine!  The 5K seemed to be the race of choice.  There were only 84 runners in the 10K....the Start Line for our race was  a spray painted line on gravel!!!Ha!Ha!  It actually was a great course and it felt good to push myself - wasn't sure I still had it in me.

Trey getting his 2nd place age group award

43:16!


Trey was shocked when he looked up & saw me coming in @ 52:32!!  BUT, if I had been 3 seconds faster I would have gotten 3rd place in my age group (40-49)...ugh!!  Oh well, I'm still happy!

We "GOT NUTS"@ the White Squirrel Festival 10K
10th overall for Trey, 35th overall for me!


Then it was back to the cabin to shower and head back out to the Festival...we didn't see any white squirrels this year though.  But good music and tons of FUN!


Can't wait til next year - hopefully going to recruit some more people to join us:)


Friday, May 24, 2013

Creamy Avocado Pasta

I have had this recipe pinned for months and finally tried it tonight - it is delicious!  I'm hoping it will help me make it up the hills tomorrow at the White Squirrel Festival 10K.  I normally would not eat this much before a 10K but I was starving and have been wanting to try this one.  Here it is:

I served this with grilled chicken.

Creamy Avocado Pasta
12 oz. whole wheat pasta (I used fettuccine)
2 ripe avocados, pitted & chopped
1 lemon, juiced
2 cloves garlic
1/4 cup olive oil
1 handful basil leaves
1/4 tsp. kosher salt

Cook pasta as directed.

Put all other ingredients in food processor, blend until smooth and creamy.  Set aside in large pasta bowl.

Drain cooked pasta and add to bowl.  Toss with avocado mixture.

Add freshly grated parmesan & red pepper flakes.  I think I may even add some sun dried tomatoes next time.

Enjoy:)

Looking forward to hopefully chasing down some white squirrels tomorrow and enjoying the festival.

Friday, May 10, 2013

I definitely did not PR in PR

The inaugural Puerto Rico Half Marathon and of course the Whitleys had to be a part of it!  This was one of the hardest races I've ever done...I've got plenty of excuses to throw out there-hot, humid, hilly, I was on vacation, walked about 10 miles the day before, etc...  We had already planned to not set a time goal (I thought for sure we would break 2:00 regardless), take pics along the way & just enjoy the race!  WELL....please follow along as the race unfolds.

Wake up call @ 3:00 a.m., race started at 5:00 & now I know why now!!!

 Look at the view from the hotel.




We walked about a mile to the Start line...please check out me already glistening from the walk over. The race started at the convention center.





Here we are in the corral for 9:00 minute milers...we are packed in like sardines and I'm dripping sweat and I know then this is not going to be good:-(. And we are off!!!!



It is SO DARK out and people are yelling "hoya" and I'm thinking that these people are so nice greeting everyone...then Trey informs me that hoya means hole & I thought they were saying hola...LOL!  That helped the first mile pass by-9:20-uh oh, I sure thought we were moving faster than that.  By mile 2 I'm drenched & hoping I even make it to the finish line!




Miles 3-4 ran up the main drag in front of our hotel...it was crazy because people were still in the bars partying...by this time many runners had started walking.  Oh, did I mention this course was HILLY!!!  I took a potty break at mile 6 to try to regroup and cool down a little.  Look at this red face.




That 2 minute stop helped so much.  I poured water down the back of my neck and headed out again.  Feeling much better around mile 7...everyone on the course was super nice and complaining about the heat as well, so that made me feel a little less like a wimp.  One runner from Puerto Rico thanked us for coming as he ran by...there were so many spectators along the course, more than I've ever seen at a race.

Around mile 10 we stopped and took this pic with this awesome view behind us...it was BEAUTIFUL!


It seems like we were out there forever!  Poor Trey hung in there with me the whole time.  He even said it was a hard run.  With about 1/2 mile to go we ran up on a girl that looked like she was struggling as well and started talking to her.  It turns out she lives in Madison, MS (where Trey's mom lives).  She said this was her worst half ever...such a small world.  Well 2:07 minutes later we made it!!!




First time doing a race with this at the Finish Line!!






 And then on to pig out at breakfast with another beautiful view!





Even though this one was a struggle for me...it's always a good time!!!  I would DEFINITELY do it again because it's the perfect excuse to go back to Puerto Rico:)